Diamonds, scientifically classified into 4 types

Diamonds are generally considered ether ""crystals of only pure carbon"" or ""gemstones composed of a single element"".

However, in reality natural diamonds take in other elements, etc., as they grow through the crystallization process deep within the earth.

The most common is nitrogen, which exists in abundance on the earth.

Diamonds are classified into two types depending on the presence of nitrogen, and then further classified respectively into 2 other types for a total of 4 types.

Classification of presence of nitrogen

Type I (Common type among natural diamonds, containing nitrogen)

Ia: Containing a mass of nitrogen atoms. These diamonds are range from colorless to yellow.

Most natural diamonds are of this Ia type.

Ib: Containing a single nitrogen atom or a scattering of them. These diamonds range from dark yellow to brown.

Type II (containing no nitrogen)

IIa: Contain almost no impurity elements such as nitrogen and boron. They are found colorless, brown and pink.

II b: Containing boron.They have the unique characteristic of conducting electricity, and the fancy blue diamond is famous.

Natural type II diamond constitute a mere 1-2%.

98-99% of natural diamonds are classified as type I which contains nitrogen. And very rarely natural type II diamonds are found

which contain almost no impurity elements, accounting for only 1-2% of diamonds. They are considered to possess prominent clarity

and beauty. Large diamonds of this type II are especially rare and historically famous, such as being seen in the collections of royal families overseas.

Most Laboratory grown diamonds are type II

As stated above, type II diamonds are very rare among natural diamonds. On the other hand, when Laboratory grown diamonds

(synthetic diamonds; hereinafter abbreviated) are colorless, they are usually type IIa containing only pure carbon.

This is because they are produced in under completely controlled conditions, enabling crystallization without any impurities.

Furthermore, the elements other than carbon are adjusted during the creation of Laboratory grown diamonds, enabling

the production of color diamonds, namely the types Ib and IIb which are rare among natural diamonds.Ia, which is common in nature, is not seen among Laboratory grown diamonds.

4C is well-known as the evaluation standard for diamonds, but why not have a look at these ""types"" of diamonds

to enhance the enjoyment of viewing and selecting both natural diamonds and Laboratory grown diamonds?